Staying true to yourself

    Probably for me

    one of the most important things

    in respect to internal

    not inter-relationship

    but me, truly me, only ME

    a belief held to my core

    STAYING TRUE TO ME

    and only when this is upheld

    can you walk out

    into the world

    looking everyone in the eyes

    exuding self-confidence

    STAYING TRUE TO ME

    for there was a time

    when this I was not

    when I withered into myself

    core barriered up

    unable to meet the courteous glances

    which soon turned to an investigative stare

    which inevitably led to more shrinkage

    so how, especially if I know the effect

    can I even consider not deviating from what was

    in order to create a better brighter future

    STAYING TRUE TO ME

    slowly I rebuild me into who I am

    emerging from the hard-baked shell

    newly emerged and more sensitive than before

    but also not able to jump bask into the cocoon

    since I was convinced that it will never again be

    so I smashed it into smithereens

    so neither me nor friend or foe

    could utilise what was mine ever again

     

    STAYING TRUE TO ME

    ...

    so decide what you want

    who you are

    what is important to you

    and hold onto that

    hold onto that for dear life

    for if I don’t have ME

    who do I have

    besides Allah?

    STAY TRUE TO ME!

    … 

      

     

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

